Key Stage 1

Children join Key Stage 1 in the September after their fifth birthday. This is the first year of the National Curriculum. They then progress to Year 2 in the next September; the September after that they will transition to junior school (Key Stage 2 in the National Curriculum).

The National Curriculum consists of core subjects and foundation subjects.

Core subjects

  • English

  • Maths

  • Science

Foundation subjects

  • Art and Design

  • Design Technology

  • History

  • Geography

  • Music

  • Physical Education (PE)

  • Religious Education (RE)

  • History

  • Geography

Children are taught phonics using the Letters and Sounds programme and undergo the Phonics Screen Check at the end of Year 1.

At the end of Year 2, Key Stage 1 assessments are administered and takes the form of SATs (Standard Assessment Tests) that are set nationally in Maths and English, and teacher assessment in Science and all other subjects.